108 record(s)


Type of resources



INSPIRE themes


Contact for the resource



Available actions

Representation types

Update frequencies



From 1 - 10 / 108
  • Categories  

    The data was collected for each of 27,915 one kilometre grid squares containing land in Highland Region.

  • Categories  

    This dataset comes from an amalgamation of classes 1 and 2 of the MLURI Land capability classificaton. LCA Class 1 - Land capable of producing a very wide range of crops LCA Class 2 - Land capable of producing a wide range of crops Land Capability for Agriculture maps at 1:250K scale were produced and published in 1982. These maps provided a national and regional appreciation of the location and areal extent of the Land Capability for Agriculture classes and were specifically designed for strategic planning purposes. More detailed maps of the main arable areas of Scotland were carried out and published in the mid 1980's. These covered classes 1, 2 and 3.1. The purpose of these maps was to assist planners and agricultural officers in assessing cases made for development and determining priorities in relation to retaining areas of high quality agricultural land.

  • Allotments are plots of land that are rented by individuals or organisations for the purpose of growing fruit, vegetables and/or flowers. There are several allotment sites in Dundee but not all of them are run by the council itself. DCC has four sites: Arklay Terrace, Ancrum Road, Magdalen Green and Macaulay St. All the others are either private or devolved sites and are therefore responsible for their own charges and waiting lists so should be contacted directly. If you wish to be placed on the waiting list for a DCC allotment plot, please email Allotment charges are currently set at £5.10 (£4.10 concession) per annum per pole (a unit of area of about 25 m2). Allotment sizes vary slightly so the total cost is different for each plot but a full size plot averages 10 poles and would therefore cost about £51 per year.

  • Categories  

    Agricultural parishes are based on Civil Parishes which were abolished as an administrative unit in Scotland in 1975. Agricultural parishes continue to be used for boundary and statistical purposes. There are 891 agricultural parishes in Scotland and they are used in the Agricultural Census and for the payment of farming grants and subsidies. The dataset contains parish boundaries, parish names and parish codes.

  • Categories  

    The National Soils Inventory for Scotland (NSIS1) dataset has been collected using sampling points arranged as a 10 km grid. A wide range of attributes are described, measured and analysed for each site. These range from contextual information describing the surrounding landscape (such as slope and vegetation), down to detailed chemical analyses of each horizon within the soil profile. There are 721 sites in total where soil occurs; where there is no soil at a particular 10 km sampling point, this point has not been included.

  • Categories  

    The Environmentally Sensitive Areas (ESA's) scheme was first introduced in 1987. The ESA scheme was introduced in Scotland to help conserve specially designated areas of the countryside where the landscape, wildlife or historic interest is of particular importance and where these environmental features can be affected by farming operations. ESA's were designated under powers given to the Secretary of State in the Agriculture Act 1986. In addition Parliament approved individual Statutory Instruments which set out the terms and conditions for each designated area. There are 10 ESA's currently operating in Scotland

  • Categories  

    The map shows the risk of water flowing overland (runoff) carrying potential pollutants into water courses. This map primarily covers the cultivated land in Scotland. The digital dataset gives information on the likelihood of a potential pollutant applied to the soil surface running off the land to a water course in 3 classes: Low, Moderate or High and is based on fundamental soil characteristics such as depth to a slowly permeable layer, soil porosity and flow pathways through the soil.

  • Categories  

    These are the 5 animal health regions in Scotland. These are part of State Veterinary Service who are an executive agency responsible for delivering agreed services in public health and animal health and welfare within Great Britain (GB). SVS deliver on behalf of the Scottish Executive Environment and Rural Affairs Department (SEERAD) and work closely with them to help develop government policies that are both deliverable and focussed on outcomes, whilst being sensitive to the needs of those we deliver to.

  • Categories  

    16 Agricultural Area Offices provide local support for agricultural issues. This information then feeds into Agricultural Headquarters in Edinburgh.

  • Categories  

    The areas the boundaries show relate to specially identified areas for hill farming.